Understanding Driving Test Faults | Driving Test Success

Understanding Driving Test Faults

double yellow lines on road

To pass your practical driving test you must have 15 or less driving faults, and no serious or dangerous faults. The 3 types of driving test faults are:

  • A serious fault, which has the potential to be dangerous
  • A dangerous fault, which involves actual danger to yourself, the examiner, the public or property
  • A driving fault – which isn't dangerous per say, but if you repeat a driving fault throughout the test it could become a serious fault

Here are the top 10 serious and dangerous faults which learners incurred in tests in 2011/2012: • Junctions – Observation • Mirrors – Change direction • Junctions – Turning right • Control – Steering • Move off – Safely • Response to lights – Traffic lights • Positioning – Normal driving • Move off – Control • Reverse park – Control • Response to signs – Road markings At the end of your test the examiner will tell you if you've passed or not, and explain how your driving was, and which faults you incurred.

Back to top