About the Hazard Perception Test | Driving Test Success

About the Hazard Perception Test


The Hazard Perception Test for learner car drivers and motorcyclists

The Hazard Perception Test was introduced in October 2002 and forms the second part of the Theory Test. You must take the Hazard Perception Test at the same time as the multiple-choice Theory Test, and pass both sections to receive your Theory Test pass certificate. If you fail one section of the test and pass the other part, you will still have to re-sit both sections to achieve a Theory Test pass.

How many videos in the Hazard Perception Test?

The Hazard Perception Test consists of a series of 14 video clips, each lasting about one minute. Shown from the driver’s viewpoint, the hazard perception test clips feature various types of hazards, such as vehicles, pedestrians or other road users.

What’s the Hazard Perception pass mark?

The current pass mark for learner car drivers and motorcyclists in Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the Hazard Perception Test is 44 out of 75.

Do all the video clips only contain one hazard in the Hazard Perception Test?

No, The Hazard Perception Test contains 15 scoreable hazards, which means that one of the clips contains two developing hazards, so don’t assume that you can relax once you think you have identified one hazard. Also, the hazard that you have identified may not necessarily be the one that the DVSA have classed as the ‘scoring’ hazard. So you must pay attention throughout each clip and click the mouse button each and every time you see something you perceive to be a developing hazard.

When to click in the Hazard Perception Test?

During the Hazard Perception Test, you must click the mouse button as soon as you see a hazard developing that would require you to take action, for example changing speed, road position or direction. The earlier you spot the developing hazard and respond, the higher you will score (up to a maximum of five points per clip).

Back to top